1983 World Cup final was landmark event in my life: Sachin Tendulkar | Cricket News – Times of India


NEW DELHI: Reminiscing concerning the 1983 World Cup triumph, former Indian cricketer Sachin Tendulkar on Thursday stated that it was a ‘landmark occasion in my life’.
At the moment, India is celebrating the completion of the 37 years of the maiden World Cup victory underneath the management of Kapil Dev.
Tendulkar took to Twitter to jot down, “The #WorldCup1983 Closing like for a lot of was a landmark occasion in my life. Nonetheless recall my mates & I celebrating all wickets proper from BS Sandhu’s epic supply to Greenidge to Kapil Paaji’s catch. We jumped & celebrated the autumn of every wicket! What a night it was.”

In 1983, the World Cup closing was performed between India and West Indies and the latter gained the toss and opted to bowl first.
The Kapil Dev-led facet managed to attain simply 183 runs as Andy Roberts took three wickets whereas Malcolm Marshall, Michael Holding, and Larry Gomes picked up two wickets every.
Defending 183, India did a very good job of maintaining a test on the Windies run move, lowering the facet to 57/3.
Quickly after, the group from the Caribbean was diminished to 76/6 and India was the favourites from there on to win the title.
Mohinder Amarnath took the ultimate wicket of Michael Holding to present India their first-ever World Cup title win.
West Indies had been bowled out for 140 as India gained the match by 43 runs.
Kapil Dev lifting the trophy on the balcony of Lord’s Cricket Floor nonetheless stays a picture to savour for all of the Indian followers.
Within the finals, Mohinder Amarnath was chosen because the Man of the Match as he scored 26 runs with the bat and in addition picked up three wickets with the ball.
India has been the common participant within the World Cup from its starting to the newest version. The primary version was held in 1975 and from there on, it has taken place after a span of each 4 years.
West Indies gained the primary two World Cup titles (1975, 1979) and was the runner-up in 1983. India have gained the title two occasions, in 1983 and in 2011.
MS Dhoni captained the 2011 group to win their second title after 28 years. Australia have gained the match 5 occasions (1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, and 2015).

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here